Sunshine in the Valley

humor and encouragement from my heart to yours

Country boys meet city girl

on March 27, 2010

I have so much catchin’ up to do here. It hasn’t been all that long since my last post, but I’ve been traveling so much here in the last week or so that it seems there is a ridiculous lot of telling to do! ;)

I have been friends with Rebekah W for years. I remember when she was Rebekah M, with no thought of Mr. W. :P I remember when we met her family when they sang at the Folk Center all those years ago, and how quickly we became friends. I remember all the long letters we wrote back and forth. Now she is a happily married woman, as well as the mother of 3 endearing little boys. It’s been several months since the birth of her latest munchkin, so I decided last weekend it was high-time I got myself up there to meet him. Plus his brothers have been wanting “Wydia” to come for a while now, and it isn’t nice to disappoint little boys.

I enjoyed a most pleasant trip up there, and arrived at their cute little place out in the boondocks almost before I knew it. They have about a 30 minute drive to get anywhere close to civilization, so safe to say they live in the “sticks”. ;) This city girl was thrilled to be surrounded by rolling hills and peaceful farm country! I loved the change of pace from my usual “norm”.

The boys have not had much exposure to gals from “the big city”, though, and were intrigued by some of my everyday habits. They had never seen a blow dryer before. (the looks on their faces were priceless when I first turned it on!) Makeup brushes were a novel concept. (“Doesn’t that tickle your face?”) Every morning they came to the bathroom and watched in fascination as I “put on my face” and styled my hair. It was quite hilarious, actually.

They may not have been too impressed with my “foof” and styling nonsense, but there was one piece of city technology that totally won them over.

My iPhone.

It was a total hit during my visit. The boys had never seen one before, and absolutely loved the little car racing app! I joked that they were going to miss my phone more than they’d miss me when I left. ;) It was so cute how much they enjoyed that phone!

They still love good old-fashioned puzzles and board games too, though, and we spent many an hour playing together.

See that big grin on my face? I absolutely loved being surrounded by kids all weekend! Candy Land was one of our favorite games, as you can see. Aren’t they darling?

This is a player piano. (yes I know you have eyes, but it needed an explanation :P) Alan bought it for next-to-nothing, and is now in the process of restoring it. We had so much fun playing merry old tunes, yet another highlight of my visit for sure.

Just look at that little blue-eyed boy. He totally stole my heart while I was there! I relished the chance of having lots of baby time!

All in all, I had a lovely time catching up with old friends and getting away from all the hustle-bustle of city life. Don’t get me wrong; I love my life. But every now and then it’s nice to get out to the country, away from it all, where the air is fresh and life is simpler. It’s just good for the soul. ;)

4 responses to “Country boys meet city girl

  1. Kenny says:

    Looks like you had a great time Lydia!

    • Jason says:

      Sounds like someone is hankering for some little kiddo’s of her own. For only $29.95 you can get my book on how to find the perfect….

    • Jason says:

      Sounds like someone is hankering for some little kiddo’s of her own. For only $29.95 you can get my book on how to find the perfect…. :D

      • heartponderings says:

        Ha..ha…HA. Very funny, Jason! :P Guilty as charged, though… I have strong maternal instincts! But kids will come in God’s good time, and not a moment before, so I might as well be patient, right? ;)

Leave a Reply

